Month 1 – The Edited Highlights

The eBay sale of the Frankie Goes To Hollywood tour program that started me off on this whole idea happened on the 3rd September. I reckon this is as good a date as any to be the end of the month, so from now on I’ll be posting ‘Monthly Accounts’ shortly after the 3rd of each calendar month. In the meantime, here are the edited highlights for September 2012.

TOTAL RECORDS BOUGHT: 39

TOTAL AMOUNT SPENT ON RECORDS: £40.67

TOTAL RECORDS SOLD: 14

TOTAL eBay SALES (excluding postage): £69.33

There are of course eBay and Paypal charges to be taken out of this figure, and there will be either a small profit or loss on the postal charges I have added to the items sold. All of this boring detail will come out in the wash when I publish the actual numbers, which I’m hoping will be at some point in the next week. Bet you can’t wait.

The less boring and the short of it is that I now have over £60 to reinvest into more records, having started this project just over a month ago with just 50p. In addition to the £60 ‘war chest’, I also have 25 records which are all bought and paid for and would further boost the invest-in-records fund were I to shift them.

All in all, then, not bad for the first month. Here are a few things I’ve discovered:

  • I’m having a lot of fun doing this.
  • I’m not going to get rich..
  • …but it also looks like I’m not going to put me and the family in the poorhouse, which is nice.
  • It’s very hard not to keep all the records you buy, even if you already have them

Doubtless I will learn more as the months go on. Here are the 13 records I sold this month, plus the Frankie Program that kicked it all off.

You can see full size images of the records listed above aswell as the rest of the FGTeBay stock over on the Tumblr. I’m also adding a track from each record I buy to a slowly growing Spotify playlist. You can also follow this blog on Facebook and talk to me on Twitter. If none of the above float your boat but you have a question, then you can always email me.

Leave a Reply

