What I’m using this site for now….

I’m a hopelessly addicted collector of records and other music-related nonsense. I’m using this blog to document the records I pick up, where, for how much, and so on. I try to post once a month with a round up of what’s gone on, and this will also include things I’ve found online. Hopefully you’ll find it interesting.

I originally started this blog, and called it Frankie Goes To eBay, back in August 2012, because of a hare-brained scheme involving records and books that I found in charity shops. It went something like this…

I bought a Frankie Goes To Hollywood tour program for 50p in a charity shop. Shortly afterwards, I sold it on eBay for £10. I then decided that I would reinvest the £9.50 I had made to buy more records, which I would then attempt to sell. With the profits from these sales I would buy yet more records, which I would then sell…..and so on.

I kept the process going for a while, and along the way people started to give me records, which was unexpected. In the end, I had over 300 records (of varying quality), sold a few on eBay and at a record fair, and came out of the process about £70 up. Not bad.

But, eventually, I ran out of steam with the idea, life got in the way, and I went back to the normal practice of just buying records for myself. I’m still doing that, so I figured this blog might be a nice way of telling that story. Meanwhile, the old story – a longer version of that described above, spread out over several posts – can be found in the previous posts on this site.

This site has an accompanying Tumblr blog, where I will be posting images of the records and books I pick up, as and when I pick them up. I think record sleeves are beautiful things, by and large, and Tumblr works well as a platform for displaying them. These photos will also appear on Instagram and Twitter.

If you want to contact me, or talk about records, the best way is to email me, or follow me on my ‘actual’ Twitter account. 

Thanks for reading,

Leave a Reply

